Another Venture Into Grocery Shopping Hell, With Today's Special Guest Host - Dave Thomas


Where to?

Have you read these?

Privacy - Wednesday, Aug. 15, 2007

'Cause I'm a Loser Baby - Monday, Jun. 25, 2007

Movies - Wednesday, Apr. 11, 2007

Too Much Excitement - Sunday, Apr. 01, 2007

Spring is Finally Here - Sunday, Mar. 25, 2007

Read a random entry of mine.

hosted by DiaryLand.com

Wednesday, Jan. 09, 2002 - 12:18 p.m.

Someone just left a flyer about how to join Weight Watchers on my desk. Are they trying to say something? I know I�m not supermodel thin, because I�ve got curves, but I�m not obese. Most of the people that work here are heftier than me, many have 50+ pounds on me, so maybe it was something distributed for the general good and I wasn�t singled out. We�ll see.

So Dave Thomas is dead, I wonder if the cause of death is related to eating too much greasy food.

I went grocery shopping yesterday, which if you�ve read my diary before you know I hate to do. I was in the frozen food aisle looking for the TV dinners that were on sale, so I could grab a few to take to work for lunch. I located them with ease and was maneuvering my cart down the aisle when a 350 � 400 pound woman, using the store provided battery operated cart with a seat on it, inched in front of the TV dinners. Then she stopped the cart and sat there, just staring at them. I decided to be patient and started putting other things that I needed from that aisle in my basket while waiting for her to move.

Five minutes later she was still sitting there just staring at the frozen meals. I decided to bust a move and grab the brand that was on sale in the cooler a few feet down from where she was. As I started to walk over there, she inched her cart to that section and then parked it, just staring. I asked her if she needed help and she stared at me in silence. What the hell? So I went and grabbed the items I originally wanted and went to the next aisle with the soups and such in it.

I was grabbing for some of the chicken soups that were on sale, when an elderly woman approached me and said, �Do you know if the tomato soup is on sale?� �No,� I say and attempt to proceed with my shopping. She stood in front of my cart so I couldn�t wheel off and starts rambling about how she read somewhere that tomato soup is supposed to be really good for you and she likes to eat it for lunch every day, blah, blah, blah. Then she started on about how she couldn�t afford much tomato soup with her receiving Social Security and all. I felt bad for her so I flagged down a clerk to help her find the soup that was on sale.

Five minutes later I was able to break free and finish my shopping. Why do these people always seem to find me? Is it because I�m too nice and won�t tell them what I�m really thinking? Anyway the rest of the trip was uneventful until I got to the checkout line where the cashier would pick up each item individually, look at it real slowly, scan it, put it in the bag and then stare behind her to watch who was coming in the store. She did this with every single item. She also managed to put my eggs in the bag with my canned goods.

Man was I glad to get out of there. Maybe I should start buying in bulk so I don�t have to go shopping as often.

<< Moldy / Fresh >>