I'm Back


Where to?

Have you read these?

Privacy - Wednesday, Aug. 15, 2007

'Cause I'm a Loser Baby - Monday, Jun. 25, 2007

Movies - Wednesday, Apr. 11, 2007

Too Much Excitement - Sunday, Apr. 01, 2007

Spring is Finally Here - Sunday, Mar. 25, 2007

Read a random entry of mine.

hosted by DiaryLand.com

Wednesday, May. 07, 2003 - 1:05 p.m.

The trip to Flordia wiped me out. The stress of MIL "helping" with C combined with C sleeping poorly because he was in a different place equals one very tired and cranky me.

We left Saturday afternoon. The plane ride down was uneventful. C was good and none of the noises bothered him. He did yell when he was hungry, but he always does that. As soon as food hit his mouth he was fine. The weather in Florida was in the high eighties and humid with tons of sunshine, making me wonder why I continue to live in the snow belt year after year, probably because the Florida summers are so hot.

On Sunday, great grandma took us to brunch at this very fancy restaurant. The food was wonderful. There was a platter of shrimp the size of my bed. These were no puny salad shrimp either. They were easily 5 inches long. There wasn't enough room in the main buffet area for the 6 desert tables so they were in a seperate room. YUM!

MIL thought that the food was great too. So great that she wanted to have some for dinner. She whipped out several ziploc bags from her purse and began stuffing them full of food. I almost died. This was a very upscale place, not Denny's or something where that kind of thing happens all of the time. The waiter came back to refill her coffee as she was shoveling things into one of the bags. He didn't say anything, but he had to have noticed. A blind person would have noticed.

Later that evening, as I was dressing C in his pjamas and topping him off before putting him down to bed, J's aunt decided to come in and get C all riled up. She was in his face, making noises and bouncing him up and down. That ruined my plan of having him go to bed at some sort of reasonable time. I threw him in the stroller and walked for probably two miles before he was calm enough to get put down to sleep. At least it was warm out.

MIL is a procrastinator, so we almost missed our return flight the next day. Thankfully there wasn't an insane line at the security checkpoint. The short line was probably due to the shoddy job they were doing in screening. I always keep a swiss army knife in my purse in case of an emergency (left over behavior from my Peace Corps days) and I completely forgot to take it out before the trip. The screeners never found it at either airport. Good thing I'm not the terrorist type.

Once we boarded the plane, it heated up like a tin can in the sun. It must have reached at least 100 degrees inside when our take off time rolled around. At that point the pilot made an announcement that we would have to wait another 20 minutes while they changed a light bulb. C decided he'd had enough of the sweltering heat and started screaming with all he had, a moment I'm sure the other passengers will cherish forever. MIL started fanning him with the "How to get off of the plane in case of emergency" brochure to no avail. He didn't stop screaming for the entire 20 minutes until they finally started the engines and turned on the climate controls. The rest of the flight was fine.

J was waiting at the airport. The first thing he said to me was, "You need to drive home because I'm tired." Not "Hi. I missed you," or "Good to see you again."

Four hours and one hail storm later we arrived at home. Yesterday and today, I've spent unpacking and doing laundry. I'm still beat. I'd give anything in the world for a nap, but C's sleep schedule is all messed up from the trip.

I did get a call for a job interview yesterday. It's at the end of the month.

<< Moldy / Fresh >>