There is a Mutant, Pastel-Colored Army Sitting on my Desk


Where to?

Have you read these?

Privacy - Wednesday, Aug. 15, 2007

'Cause I'm a Loser Baby - Monday, Jun. 25, 2007

Movies - Wednesday, Apr. 11, 2007

Too Much Excitement - Sunday, Apr. 01, 2007

Spring is Finally Here - Sunday, Mar. 25, 2007

Read a random entry of mine.

hosted by DiaryLand.com

Wednesday, Mar. 06, 2002 - 12:08 p.m.

I'm slowly recovering from yesterday. I've resigned myself to the fact that I work with a bunch of idiots and I'm trying not to let that get to me.

I went grocery shopping yesterday after work and it wasn't the usual terrible experience because no weird customers approached me this time to complain about Social Security etc. I did however have a mouth-breather cashier who managed to put my Peeps on the bottom of the bag. Then she stacked items on top of them. Peeps are those marshmallow candies shapped like little chicks with blue, purple or yellow sugar sprinkled on them. These candies come out once a year around Easter.

I myself am not a big fan of them. For me if a sweet doesn't contain chocolate or carmel then I am not interested in eating it. Peeps are a bit too squishy and foam-like for my taste and as far as the flavor goes, I could get the same effect just eating a spoonful of white sugar. There is also some unwritten (until now) rule that I follow about not eating anything that is neon blue, as neon blue is not a naturally occuring food color. It is probably due to some adaptive trait that kept us from eating poisonous stuff when we were cavemen and women that I retain in my DNA. I also feel weird about eating a little chicken or duck shaped thing.

Some people are fanatical about Peeps and seek them out in large quantities when they are in season. My office mate who is turning 50 today is one of these people. I witnessed her biting the purple heads off of the little chicks for lunch yesterday. With this in mind I decided to pick her up some as a birthday present. The ones I picked up got squashed so I had to go back and get some more. Now I have them sitting on my desk waiting to give them to her. They are all lined up in rows inside their little boxes creeping me out because it looks like some sort of mutant, pastel-colored army is staring at me.

In a few minutes there is a potluck luncheon for someone who is leaving because she got another job - lucky her. It smells strongly of rotten eggs or something equally rank in the hallway, so I'm a little concerned as to what dishes people are bringing to this event. I might just stop in and say goodbye, then leave to go get something to eat.

<< Moldy / Fresh >>