Life Update and Part 1 of the Prom Story


Where to?

Have you read these?

Privacy - Wednesday, Aug. 15, 2007

'Cause I'm a Loser Baby - Monday, Jun. 25, 2007

Movies - Wednesday, Apr. 11, 2007

Too Much Excitement - Sunday, Apr. 01, 2007

Spring is Finally Here - Sunday, Mar. 25, 2007

Read a random entry of mine.

hosted by DiaryLand.com

Friday, Jan. 04, 2002 - 6:31 p.m.

The haze has lifted and I can finally breathe with some ease and think clearly or at least as clearly as I usually do. Good riddance stupid illness!

The phone rang today and to my excitement it was someone from the place where I interviewed for the job that I really want. My excitement quickly reverted back into a gigantic ball of anxiety when she said, �I just wanted to let you know that although we indicated we�d have a decision by the first of the year, we won�t likely know anything until the end of next week.� *sigh*

They are determined to torture me, twisting the thumb screws daily with their blasted slowness. I applied for the job in August. They interviewed me in November and again in December. How long can it possibly take to determine who they want to hire? ACKKKKKK! *pulls at prematurely (due to stress) graying hair*

To say that I�m frustrated is putting it mildly.

At my current job, they are finally getting around to doing interviews for the position that I�m temporarily doing in addition to my regular duties. The interviews are Monday and I am to be involved. I could take out my frustration on the interviewees by putting the screws to them, but as tempting as that is, I�m sure that would just not be right.

Why can�t anything ever just be easy?

____________________________________

OK, I�ll cool it with the self pity.

Remember a while back when I wrote the date stealing story and I promised to follow up with the prom story? I know you�ve been dying to hear it. *chuckles* So, here it is:

K and I along with another friend, K2, decided that we should all go to prom. I sort of poo-poo�d the idea at first as I don�t go for overly hyped, frilly, forced sentimental stuff (naturally sentimental stuff I like just fine). K2 really liked that sort of thing. She collected Precious Moments figurines and the whole bit. K was neutral on the subject after learning her lesson about formal dances when she stole my homecoming date. K said we should go because K2 really wanted to go and we�d all be going away to college next year, blah, blah, blah� so we wouldn�t have another chance to do this.

I caved and decided to go. Next came the problem of trying to find dates. Neither of us were beauty queens, cheerleaders or in the �in crowd.� K was taller then most men, K2 was average height and very chubby and I was short and curved. K complained that she couldn�t find a date, so I suggested that she call up her stolen homecoming date and see if he�d like to go. She simply sneered at me in response.

K2 said she found a date who turned out to be a dropout with a violent temper. She always managed to pick the winners.

I wasn�t having much luck finding a date when one day a neighborhood boy stopped me in the hallway at school and asked me to go. I thought he was joking with me, since he was always really sarcastic and never said anything that wasn�t a joke, so I laughed and said, �Yeah right.� After he walked away, a friend who was standing next to me started jumping all over me for what I�d done. It turns out that he wasn�t joking and she knew he was going to ask me. Of course she could have given me a heads up, but that only happens in make believe world.

Now I felt like the world�s cruelest person. I would have said �yes� if I didn�t think he was joking and I certainly didn�t want to hurt his feelings. I decided to apologize to him and explain how I misunderstood him. He accepted my apology, but said he changed his mind about going with me. I felt like a real heel. He didn�t speak to me much after that. I really am an idiot when it comes to understanding men and age hasn�t helped me in this department.

To be continued���

<< Moldy / Fresh >>