Idiot Drivers and Part Deux of the Prom Story


Where to?

Have you read these?

Privacy - Wednesday, Aug. 15, 2007

'Cause I'm a Loser Baby - Monday, Jun. 25, 2007

Movies - Wednesday, Apr. 11, 2007

Too Much Excitement - Sunday, Apr. 01, 2007

Spring is Finally Here - Sunday, Mar. 25, 2007

Read a random entry of mine.

hosted by DiaryLand.com

Monday, Jan. 07, 2002 - 6:53 p.m.

Today I got to sit on the other side of the interview table and interview candidates for the position I�m temporarily filling along with my regular job responsibilities. I was very pleasant with every person. I didn�t want to risk any bad karma that may prevent me from getting the job I really want. It says something about the economic situation when some of the people interviewing for the job have 15 � 20 years of experience but have been out of work for 4-6 months.

In other news, I witnessed the driver who should receive the Jackass Driver of the Day Award on my commute home from work. When I drive, I operate under the assumption that when an emergency vehicle has its siren on you either pull over or otherwise get out of the way. I know, call me old fashioned. I was on a 5-lane road (2 lanes in either direction and 1 center lane) heading west, when I stopped at a red light. An ambulance was heading eastbound with its sirens blaring and lights flashing.

Traffic in all directions on both roads of the intersection were pulling over or otherwise getting out of the way. The light for east/west traffic turned green while this was happening. The ambulance needed to turn left at the light. Apparently this potential award winner decided that he didn�t want to wait for the next light because of the ambulance. He whiped out of the left turn lane where he was fourth in line to turn and followed the ambulance through the intersection. I would have loved to see him get nailed, but alas he made it through the light (barely) before oncoming traffic resumed.

____________________________

Here�s part 2 of the prom story:

After blowing it with my potential date (I still feel bad about what I said to the guy to this day), I conferred with K and K2. I suggested that we just go dateless and have fun. To which they both emphatically said no even though K did not have a date either. So it was back to the drawing board. I was debating on asking my cousin just to get it over with, but K and K2 insisted I get a �real� date.

Meanwhile K decided that she really wanted to go with someone who already had a date. (old habits die hard) She relentlessly pursued this guy. I couldn�t even appeal to her sense of decency when I told her to lay off because she was going to upset the girl he was going with. She didn�t care, even though the girl should have gotten her sympathy, considering the girl�s brother committed suicide the previous month. She finally backed off and asked a neighbor to go with her.

I broke up with my high school boyfriend a few months before the prom due to another miscommunication, similar to what happened with the guy who asked me to go as his date and I thought he was joking. I can be really stupid at times. Anyway, I felt bad for my mistake and was trying to make it up to him. I was succeeding, so I asked if he�d go with me. He accepted.

I talked to K and K2 to let them know that I had a date and was good to go. Imagine my surprise when they told me that we were going to go as �liberated women� and not only be dateless, but not pay for tickets as well. Now the sneaking in for free part appealed to my rebellious side so I was in agreement with that. I ended up going back and forth with them about going dateless since I went through such hassle to get a date in the first place.

Finally I agreed to go dateless on the condition that we only sneak in, eat some free food, dance 1 dance and then leave. They agreed, so I had to call my ex and tell him I didn�t need a date. Needless to say he was a little bit upset with me. I really am an idiot when it comes to men. But I digress�

When the big night arrived, the three of us got dressed up, piled into K2�s dad�s Cadillac and headed off to the banquet hall where the dance was. We managed to sneak in without any hassles, got some free food and danced one dance. Then we lost K. K2 and I were then ready to go, but we couldn�t leave because K wasn�t keeping with the plan. She was on the dance floor cutting in to dance with the guy she was trying to get to go with her in the first place. We finally managed to guilt her into leaving him alone to his date so we could leave, but she tossed off her shoes somewhere in the date stealing process and couldn�t find them. She had to leave shoeless but we eventually managed to get out of there.

Man am I glad I�m not a teenager anymore. I was a real idiot back then.

<< Moldy / Fresh >>