A Sight For Sore Eyes


Where to?

Have you read these?

Privacy - Wednesday, Aug. 15, 2007

'Cause I'm a Loser Baby - Monday, Jun. 25, 2007

Movies - Wednesday, Apr. 11, 2007

Too Much Excitement - Sunday, Apr. 01, 2007

Spring is Finally Here - Sunday, Mar. 25, 2007

Read a random entry of mine.

hosted by DiaryLand.com

Wednesday, Mar. 13, 2002 - 3:20 p.m.

I've finally had it with my glasses. The lenses are so scratched up that it distorts the prescription and gives me headaches. I kept putting off the inevitable eye exam and new glasses not only because I have no insurance for such things and they are darn expensive, but also because I could think of lots of more desirable ways to spend my time. After suffering a scorching headache on Monday because of my ruined lenses, I called and made an appointment for an eye exam.

I spent my lunch hour today at the DOC near my office. There was a special of 50% off all frames going on so I was feeling a little easier about the amount of money that I was going to have to cough up. Of course the sale frames are usually the ugliest most out of date styles, so I browsed the sale case before checking in for my appointment. Half of the case was filled with big round plastic framed 80's style glasses, but there were some possibilities in the rest of the case.

As I approached the counter to check in, my ears were pierced by the high pitched voice of the clerk saying, "Oh, you must be Madame Fromage, please take these forms and have a seat - so good to see you."

The back door opened as I sat in my waiting room chair and out walked one of the most handsome people I've seen in a long time. He walked towards me and extended his hand saying, "Hello. I'm Dr. Carter. Please follow me." It was a struggle not to leave my mouth hanging open as I stared at him. He had the darkest black hair I've ever seen. It was cut really short but styled so it didn't look like it was just a buzz cut. He was dressed in hip looking grey slacks with a simple white shirt and some cool looking black leather shoes that straddled the border of casual and professional. His eyes were so blue that they seemed to pop right out of his head.

And now for the clincher...... As he helped me into the exam chair, I noticed his hands. They were stunning. I know that sounds weird but I have a thing for men's hands. They were strong and sturdy, yet clean and kept looking. I thought I was going to loose it then and there, but you'll be happy to know that I remained calm and was able to focus enough to get through the examination.

Next it was on to selecting a frame. The ones I have are trashed as one side barely remains connected to the front of the frames. This means I have to dole out more cash of course. I found several styles to try on, but it is very hard to see how something looks on you without your glasses on. After about an hour of trying I finally found a pair that looked pretty darn good on me, but of course they weren't in the sale bin. =o( I then spent the next 20 minutes pleading my case to the sales lady about how I couldn't afford them. She must have gotten sick of my whining because she agreed to give me 50% off. My new specs are now ordered and will be ready a week from now.

I can't wait. It'll be a real treat to be able to see again. I wouldn't mind seeing that Dr. again when I go to pick them up.

<< Moldy / Fresh >>