One Step Forward, Hopefully Zero Steps Back


Where to?

Have you read these?

Privacy - Wednesday, Aug. 15, 2007

'Cause I'm a Loser Baby - Monday, Jun. 25, 2007

Movies - Wednesday, Apr. 11, 2007

Too Much Excitement - Sunday, Apr. 01, 2007

Spring is Finally Here - Sunday, Mar. 25, 2007

Read a random entry of mine.

hosted by DiaryLand.com

Tuesday, Mar. 12, 2002 - 1:27 p.m.

Things are bad as usual at my job. I know I keep saying that I need to get out of here, but its true. There was only one job possibility that I was interested in and have the qualifications for in Sunday's paper. Being that my officemate is out to lunch right now, I printed off my resume and I'll start working on a cover letter soon so I can get it mailed.

You don't need to be a gambler to know that mailing out a resume once every few weeks, because there are that few opportunities, indicates that there is a low probability I'll be interviewed much less get any of these jobs. Being highly motivated to get out of my current job gave me an idea. I belong to a statewide listserv forum for people in the same field as me. The wheels in my mind were turning yesterday, which gave me the brilliant idea that the subscribers could potentially know of jobs that I would be interested in and qualified for. So I sent individual emails to key members yesterday briefly stating my qualifications and what I was looking for. Then I asked if they had or knew of any openings.

I hope that turns up some more possibilities. I just received an email from one of those people asking for my resume. She didn't say whether or not she had an opening, but it is progress.

In case the limited job prospects aren't depressing enough, I got an email from a friend whose husband is dieing from cancer. He has gotten bad enough that he had to move from in-home hospice to the hospice facility today, which means that the end is near. She knows this and is in bad shape. He is only 42 years old and is leaving behind his wife and their 15 year old son. This situation leaves me feeling powerless, as I cannot do anything to alleviate their pain and I'm at a loss as to what to do to show support.

While I complain about my job and living situation, her situation makes me realize that life is short and unexpected things can happen, so I need to make the most of my time here.

<< Moldy / Fresh >>