Planting, A Surprise Trip and A Little Philosophy


Where to?

Have you read these?

Privacy - Wednesday, Aug. 15, 2007

'Cause I'm a Loser Baby - Monday, Jun. 25, 2007

Movies - Wednesday, Apr. 11, 2007

Too Much Excitement - Sunday, Apr. 01, 2007

Spring is Finally Here - Sunday, Mar. 25, 2007

Read a random entry of mine.

hosted by DiaryLand.com

Thursday, Apr. 24, 2003 - 12:17 p.m.

Today the local Conservation District had their annual tree seedling sale. Being that the neighbors have been accumulating treasures such as snowmobiles that have potential but don't currently work, I thought I'd take advantage of the sale to load up on fast growing trees to plant near the property line - you know, for my viewing pleasure. I got fifty, four year old white spruce and white pine seedlings. The white pines are for the shady areas and the spruces for the sunny areas.

I tried to transplant some directly from the seedling sale to their final location last year and only about half of them survived. This time, I plan to pot them for a year or two to make them strong and used to the conditions around here before putting them where I want them. That means it could be a while before my backyard view improves. J sweet talked a local landscaping place into giving him a bunch of their old pots that they were throwing away. I've just got to wait until he gets home from work before I can pot them all. In the meantime I've got them spritzed with water and their roots covered in wet cloths.

_____________________________

In other news, MIL called me last night (she NEVER calls me and I mean never. She usually just rudely asks for J and doesn't even say hi to me.) and said she wanted to take me, J and the baby to Florida to visit J's grandma. It was one of those rare instances where I forgot to check the caller ID before picking up the phone. Lesson: ALWAYS check the caller ID.

I'm all for a FREE 4 day trip to Florida, especially when it gets below freezing at night here still, but this could be VERY stressful being trapped on a plane and all with unsolicited baby advice being offered and her trying to keep my kid from eating. J's grandma is a very funny lady and I wouldn't mind seeing her. Decisions, decisions... I have to call her back tonight since she has this time limited deal on airfare.

______________________________

Did you ever notice that some people remain your friends through thick and thin? I don't even mean that a good friend not only goes out with you and does the fun stuff but also shows support when things get ugly. I mean that a good friend no matter how far away they live, when you call them or see them it is like you've never been seperated. I recently talked to my friend H who I haven't physically seen in 4 years due to distance, but talking to her is like she is right there and time never stopped. What a blessing it is to have that type of friendship.

Then there are the friends where you think you really connect and see them all the time for years and then they just disappear. If and when you see them again it is very weird and like you're speaking to a stranger. My friend K who was my very good friend since I was 12 is like this. We grew apart along the way sometime during our college years, but we occasionally keep in touch. The sad thing is that there really is no connection when I speak to her, just a sense of history or nostalgia that makes me perpetuate the farce of a relationship.

I'm not sure why I'm so nostaligic today. Maybe because I feel older now that J turned 32 the other day. I guess I miss my good friend S. We were really close and shared a bond where words sometimes weren't necessary. There was just a connection and knowledge of one another that felt comfortable like your favorite pair of shoes. He seems to have dropped off the face of the earth. It's been three years since I've spoken with him and man I miss his shit eating grin and words of wisdom. Perhaps he will venture back into my life. He always was a wanderer.

My stomach is rumbling so I'm going to go grab a bite.

<< Moldy / Fresh >>