Dinner Plans


Where to?

Have you read these?

Privacy - Wednesday, Aug. 15, 2007

'Cause I'm a Loser Baby - Monday, Jun. 25, 2007

Movies - Wednesday, Apr. 11, 2007

Too Much Excitement - Sunday, Apr. 01, 2007

Spring is Finally Here - Sunday, Mar. 25, 2007

Read a random entry of mine.

hosted by DiaryLand.com

Saturday, Mar. 09, 2002 - 3:38 p.m.

Its finally Friday. I don't think I'll have too much sleep this weekend though, as we are going to Detroit to visit with my parents and the in-laws, both of whom have less than comfortable sleeping arrangements. J's parents have a sofa bed that seems to have a spring that stabs you between the shoulder blades no matter how you lay on the bed. It also has no center support so J and I both roll towards the center of the bed and end up nose to nose. It's either that or hold onto the side of the bed for dear life, then as you drift into sleep, slip towards the center anyway.

My parents have a metal framed futon, with a pathetically thin mattress, so when you lie on it you feel each and every metal bar across your spine. Combine that with the fact that my mother wants everyone to go to bed when she does, which is usually like 8PM, makes for a night of tossing and turning.

J arranged for both of our parents to meet and have dinner with us. His recent behavior will make the dinner a little awkward for me. I guess it can't be as embarassing as the time my parents decided to give me "the talk" at dinner when they had guests over. I was about 8 years old and my parents had this couple over for dinner. They were talking about things like I didn't exsist. I remember the lady saying something like, "did you get that book?" to my mom. The next thing I knew, my mom handed me a book with a big cartoon man and woman on it that said, "Where do babies come from" on it.

I already had a pretty good idea about the concept, as information of that sort tends to make rounds on the elementary school playground. I didn't know the mechanics or anything, but I knew there was no stork that dropped babies from the sky. Looking at my mom in horror, I said, "Oh thanks," and then put the book down. She then told me that I should read it then and there. Wanting to crawl under the table and die, she had me sit there and read it while they were having their after dinner conversation.

I think it was a year or so later when that same couple was over for a visit that they pulled the same routine with a book called, "So you're growing up." This time the subject matter was puberty.

Bon weekend.

<< Moldy / Fresh >>